Hexagon Motif Love

IMG_20130115_210646

I recently have a new found love of hexagon motifs. There are so many crochet hexagon motifs but I am especially in love with the African flower hexagon at the moment.  There are lots of different patterns for hexagons and I spent hours looking at different sites and books and projects etc. so I thought I’d make a list of the ones that I found useful:

  • There is a very good tutorial by Heidi on the HeidiBear’s Blog on how to make the flowers, with lots of photos and detailed instructions.
  • I love the Royal Sisters blog which has lots of granny square and hexagon love on it, and it was this handbag that inspired me to start making the African Flowers in the first place.
  • Lucy from Attic24 also has a tutorial/pattern for the African Flowers.
  • One loop short has another hexagon tutorial/pattern
  • Jacquie from Bunny Mummy has a tutorial for a very different crochet hexagon.
  • Loop Knits also has a pattern for hexagons and some advice about picking yarns and patterns.
  • There are a few African Flower and crochet hexagon groups on Flickr, again they are great for browsing through for some inspiration. There are also discussion forms with questions and answers:

IMG_20130120_143618

I am in the process of making an African flower cushion from lots of scraps of Sublime Cashmere Merino Silk DK that I had left over from other projects. All of the flowers are made and sewn together, but I now need to decide how I’m going to fill in the spaces so that it makes a perfect rectangle. I have been playing around with it and tried Tunisian but it didn’t really work out, have tried a few other things too but nothing that I am really happy with yet. If I come up with something I’ll post it up here.

I’ve also bought a huge stash of lots of different colours of cotton to make myself a new handbag…as usual I couldn’t wait for the yarn to be delivered so I have started something else (a big blanket for Dyl). So this handbag has taken a back seat, but it will get made!

3 thoughts on “Hexagon Motif Love

  1. I don’t know what it is but I feel like this has a kind of retro feel to it as well. I’m loving hexagons too right now- I do scrapbooking and they also seem to be popular in that forum.
    I think that pattern would also make a really cute bag.

    • Yeh I bought yarn to make a bag about a month ago and still haven’t started…so many other projects on the go. Need to finish a few before I start anything else!

Leave a Reply

