My first crochet shawl

9292109479_dc859b5411

Before I learnt to knit I kept seeing beautiful knitted shawls and decided that I had to crochet a shawl. I wanted something delicate but with not too much open stitch work. I found this Izumi pattern on Ravelry and fell in love.

9294876294_a162c2836dThe yarn I used was Lang Jawoll Magic Dégradé which I found lovely to work with, a part from the last skein which had alot of badly spun regions that I had to cut out…meaning I had lots of knots and ends to weave in. I had never used this type of self striping yarn before and loved the effect it gave, but in hindsight I do think that this pattern would be suited better to a solid or semi solid yarn so that the pattern can be seen more clearly.

9294889778_19f70dd0deI started this back in November ’12 , it took a couple of false starts but once I got into the swing I flew through it. Its a nice pattern to crochet because its difficult enough to keep your attention but the repeats get easier to memorize so you don’t keep having to go back to the pattern. By the end it was getting a bit tiresome, but all in all it was an enjoyable crochet. I finished it in 2 months but only got around to blocking it in May of this year (More on my problems with blocking in another post)
With the beautiful weather this weekend (and being able to borrow a good camera) I got some nice pics.

I am very happy with it and will wear with pride during the winter!

9292108925_58fc45b5bf

 

 

Leave a Reply

