Oirthir – East Coast Waves

 

9294886898_246058e07f

This pattern looks like the little waves in the Irish sea, off the east coast of the country.

I saw this pattern in Simply Crochet Iss 1 and it was actually my Husband who decided that he wanted it as a throw for the couch. At the time of buying yarn for it, I hadn’t read the pattern properly, and didn’t realise that it was a small baby blanket. I doubled the amount of yarn suggested, adding in extra width by adding in shell repeats but it still ended up pretty small – well it’s a large baby blanket but not big enough for a throw. I have decided to keep it for any baby we may have in the future.

9292098643_7501a0d749It’s a very simple pattern, with a row of sc (US) and then a row of dc (US) shell stitches, so it does get a bit boring after a while. The small sc stitches means that you end up with a very thick, heavy weight fabric with a beautiful rippling texture. It is so warm, making it perfect for the winter. It did open up a bit after blocking but has retained some of the texture from the shell stitches.

9292107459_c3145a713fI used Debbie Bliss Cashmerino DK, in a bright blue for the main body of the blanket and a greyish blue for the inside edging, and used Debbie Bliss Rialto DK in Navy for the outer edging. My Husband picked all the colours, and at the time I wasn’t too sure about them. They looked a little too much like the Dublin flag! Now that it’s finished I’m much happier with his choice!

I found the pattern for the edging very confusing so I kind of made it up as I went along and then did the outer edging in a stitch that I found in a book I have called  ‘Around the corner crochet borders’ that uses a repeating 2 x 9 loop stitch.

9294880896_9b072c4312

I’m happy with the end result and glad to have it finished, blocked and photographed… now on to the next…I’m currently KNITTING! Wool Leaves by Jared Flood (I love it!).

2 thoughts on “Oirthir – East Coast Waves

Leave a Reply

