My first attempt at lace knitting – Wool Leaves

IMG_7400

 

One of the main attractions of knitting for me was lace. Since knitting I have found many many things that keep me attracted, but initially I wanted to learn so that I could knit lace.

With my sister being pregnant (and about to pop any day now!) I decided to knit Wool Leaves by Jared Flood. I really like the rustic look of this pattern (and the yarn used in the photos) and it incorporates lace without having to use fine yarn.  It also looked like it would be relatively simple for a n00b like me!

IMG_7407

I used Rico Design Essentials Soft Merino Aran in a dark teal, and I held the yarn double as instructed in the pattern. It knit up so quickly on the 9 mm needles (my wonderful Hiya Hiya steel sharps). I did make a mistake or two – one in the moss stitch border and another in one of the leaves…but like most mistakes, I don’t think anyone will notice unless they are pointed out.

It looks great blocked and I am really happy with it but I think if I were to do it again I would go down a needle size – as I feel like it is very loosely knit and not as warm and snuggly as I had hoped.

I learnt a lot knitting this and it has given me a bit of confidence to tackle some more difficult lace patterns.

IMG_7404

I have decided not to give this to my sister as I think she would prefer a cabled blanket, instead I am going to give this to my friend and office mate for her baby that is due soon too.

2 thoughts on “My first attempt at lace knitting – Wool Leaves

Leave a Reply

