My second Puerperium cardigan

DSCF4316_u

I made the Beyond Puerperium months ago but I wasn’t happy with it. I was trying to use up some old acrylic yarn, that wasn’t really very nice, and I made a good few mistakes. It has been blocked but has since sat in my cupboard with no buttons on it.

DSCF4318_u

This time, I used Debbie Bliss Rialto DK Solids, in a petroly blue colour. It’s such a nice bouncy stretchy yarn that it gives the finished piece a lovely feel. My knitting has improved a lot since my last attempt, so the cardy ended up working up really quickly and looking great. It is too big for my new nephew (I was a bold knitter and didn’t swatch) but he’ll grow into it in a few weeks.

DSCF4313_u

I got some lovely wooden buttons in Springwools, and sewed them on with red thread for contrast (I can’t really take credit for that idea – it was my husband who suggested it).

3 thoughts on “My second Puerperium cardigan

  1. This is lovely – really like the button detail on it. That’s the great thing about making clothes for children, it doesn’t matter too much if its too big ‘cos they grow so fast!

Leave a Reply

