Learning to quilt

I got a sewing machine for my birthday a few years ago, but all I have made since then was bunting for my wedding.  So 4 weeks ago I started a quilting class in Sew in Rathmines with a friend. Its a beautiful shop with a great selection of fabrics and notions. My teacher is great, very knowledgeable and encouraging and the class is relaxed but interesting. I’ve learnt so much in a few weeks (one thing being that I am not very good at sewing seams of the right size!). I’m currently making a Rail Fence quilt using Tilda Summer Blues fabrics I picked up at the Knit and Stitch show in the RDS a couple of weeks ago. The piecing is much more difficult than expected, and I’ve ended up with many wonky edges but I think I’ve managed to get it to work. I am working on the border at the moment and finding it difficult but I guess I have to start somewhere! Then the quilting…I’m really looking forward to trying this, it looks really difficult but with some practice I’ll hopefully come away with something half decent.

My backing fabric arrived last week so I’m hoping to get the border finished and get the quilt basted over the next week,  and maybe even start quilting.

With all the darkness and lack of light I haven’t managed to get a photo of the work in progress…hopefully next weekend!

There are so many beautiful quilts out there – check out my quilting board on Pintrest.

I’m already planning my next project, it’s going to be a patchwork cushion for a new chair we bought for the house made from half square triangles…

 

Edit: got a bad pic of the finished top…

2013-12-04 20.48.43

3 thoughts on “Learning to quilt

    • Yeh there are some fab ones on there! The class in Sew in Rathmines is great if you do decide to learn…means less time for knitting though!

      On Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 2:25 PM, The Prune Tree

  1. Pingback: My First Quilt – finished! | The Prune Tree

Leave a Reply

