Samen Finished and Blocked

IMG_5166_crop

So finally I have finished my Samen! I started this in November as a birthday present for my husband (his birthday is the start of January) and he is finally getting it now, in April, when the sun is shining and there is no need for it. It was another casualty of my first trimester blues.

IMG_5199_fixHe picked the pattern himself, he loves Stephen West’s designs, I had shown him this pattern when it was released and he immediately asked me to knit it for him. We picked out the yarn in This Is Knit, he wanted a greyish and purpleish colour base, very similar to one of the shawls in the photos on the Samen pattern page. We got some Malabrigo Silkpaca in a purple and some neutral cream and pearl, this yarn is lovely and soft and warm, but being alpaca, I think it will be wearable in spring without causing overheating! We also picked up some Debbie Bliss Rialto Lace, in a black and dark greyish/brown.

IMG_5159The yarn is held double, with two different colours, giving an interesting marled effect, after one section one colour is dropped and the next picked up. With 5 different colours you can match them up anyway you like. I love how the purple is so different with the black and with the cream.The knitting was fairly easy, but being my first time doing short rows, I did make a few mistakes. Lack of concentrations, and leaving it down for months meant that I didn’t do enough rows in one of the short row sections. Also some of the rows of YO’s are offset from the ones below (which they shouldn’t be!) but I don’t think it is noticeable and doesn’t make much of a difference. I’m not really sure if any of this has affected the shape but as it will be worn as a scarf rather than a shawl over the shoulders, I think I’ll get away with it.

IMG_5173My husband loves it and has been dying to wear it – but I wanted to make sure it was blocked and photographed first.  My bind off was a bit tight, even though I very consciously tried to do it loosely. Next time I’ll go up a needle size. I hoped this would block out ok but I think it may have affected the sharpness of the point.I enjoyed knitting this but did find the garter rows got a bit tiresome and the end. I picked up my Pumpkin Ale after this and it felt like the rows were so short after knitting the big long rows of Samen!

 

4 thoughts on “Samen Finished and Blocked

Leave a Reply

