WIPs – Circle Circle Blanket and another Puerperium Cardigan

20140616_081237It’s been weeks since I posted last. I have been a bit lazy about this and well…everything! I have projects on the needles and hooks but nothing seemed to be going as planned. I’ve pushed through and now I am nearly finished my crochet Circle Circle blanket for bump. I’m really happy with how it’s turning out! It has taken ages as I was blocking squares in batches before joining and sometimes a batch would end up on my mat for a week before I’d do the next batch. I started weaving in ends and joining and actually got it together pretty quickly. I’m now on the boarder and it’s working up quick enough but I haven’t picked it up in days – I have been knitting instead.

IMG_20140616_220821I had planned to try a new knitted cardigan pattern for bump. It is advised to have 2 cardigans in your hospital bag, and I want at least one (if not both) to be a hand knitted cardy. I have made Puerperium three times and I have also made In Threes (both of which I love) so I figured I should try something new. I started on the Garter Yoke Baby Cardigan without a gauge swatch of course, and wasn’t very happy with how it was working up and wasn’t crazy about the yarn either, so abandoned it in favour of my good old reliable – Puerperium. I’m making this in Wollmeise that I bought ages ago. I didn’t pick the colourway (green and pinky/red together) and when it arrived I wasn’t crazy about it for any of my planned projects, so it has sat in my stash since. I am really trying to stash bust at the moment so decided this would be as good an excuse as any to try it out, and I am so glad I did because I love it! As usual I didn’t do a gauge swatch and for some reason I decided the newborn size was going to be too small for my newborn so I picked the 0-3 months size, which is now turning out huge! My baby will fit into it until for months and months (or maybe even years)!! I’m on the home stretch with this, and expect to have it finished by the weekend, so I can cast on the Garter Yoke with some Sublime Baby Cashmere Merino Silk DK that I bought on my week off last week.

In other news – I bought some Katia Air Lux in a bronze (dark gold) colourway in The Constant Knitter for a caplet that I plan to make. There is a sample shawl in the shop knit in it and it is just beautiful but the pattern hasn’t been released yet. The caplet I plan to make is Angel Capelet from the Debbie Bliss Spring/Summer 2011 magazine. I didn’t have it, and was looking for it via a LYS (This is Knit), they didn’t stock it either but put the call out on twitter…resulting in me getting some very generous offers from the Dublin Knitteraty. I am very grateful to Mary for giving me this magazine- now I just need to get on an knit it!

Leave a Reply

